• Seven members Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka,Myanmar and Thailand
  • Secretariat at Dhaka, Bandladesh
  • Member countries in the adjacent area of Bay of Bengal
  • Old names BIST-EC, BIMST-EC. Myanmar, Nepal and Bhutan added latter.

Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is a regional organisation comprising seven member states laying in adjacent area of Bay of Bengal.

At present Seven Member States: five deriving from South Asia ( Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka), and two from Southeast Asia (Myanmar and Thailand).

Objectives & AIM

This group constitute a bridge between South and south east Asia.It is platform for co-operation between ASEAN and SAARC countries. BIMTEC region is the home to 1.5 billion people 22 % of the total population of the world.

BIMSTEC is the sector driven organisation.

Starting with six sectors in 1997—including trade, technology, energy, transport, tourism and fisheries. In 2008  it expanded to with nine more sectors—including agriculture, public health, poverty alleviation, counter-terrorism, environment, culture, people to people contact and climate change.


Initially it was BIST-EC with member Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka and Thailand; 1997 Myanmar included and renamed as BIMST-EC, then in 2004 Nepal and Bhutan included and renamed as BIMSTEC.

  • Initially formed with four member countries  acronym ‘BIST-EC’ (Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka and Thailand Economic Cooperation).
  • 22 December 1997 during a special Ministerial Meeting in Bangkok, the Group included Myanmar and was renamed ‘BIMST-EC’ (Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka and Thailand Economic Cooperation.
  • With the admission of Nepal and Bhutan at the 6th Ministerial Meeting (February 2004, Thailand), the name of the grouping was changed to ‘Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation’ (BIMSTEC)
error: Content is protected !!