South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC)

Member Countries

Secretariat located at Kathmandu, Nepal

SAARC was established by signing charter in Dhaka on 8 December 1985 with eight member countries.


To promote welfare of people of South Asia and improve quality of life; accelerate economic growth; promote cultural and social development; promote self reliance among member countries ; Mutual trust and mutual co-operation in economic, social cultural, technical & Scientific fields; and to co-operates with international organisation with similar aims.


1    SAARC Chamber of Commerce & Industry (SCCI
 2  South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation in Law (SAARCLAW
 3   South Asian Federation of Accountants (SAFA)
 4  South Asia Foundation (SAF)
 5  Foundation of SAARC Writers and Literature (FOSWAL)
 6  South Asia Initiative to End Violence Against Children (SAIEVAC)